The American Civil Liberties Union of Virginia is governed by a board of directors from around the Commonwealth who bring with them to their board service a diverse set of skills and experiences. 

2018-2019 Board of Directors

  • Steve Levinson, President
  • Sandy Smith, Vice-President
  • Lavonda Graham-Williams, Secretary
  • Alan Rudnick, Treasurer
  • Patrick Anderson, National Board Representative
  • Liz Gilchrist, past National Board Representative
  • Ed Rosenthal, Legal Panel Chair
  • Amy Adams
  • Suja Amir
  • Sheyna Burt
  • Lauren Gilbert
  • Ruth Mary Hall
  • Vivian Hamilton
  • Jim Heilman
  • Osita Iroegbu
  • Ardavan Mobasheri
  • Aida Pacheco
  • Kimble Reynolds
  • Marion Stillson
  • Phillip Thompson
  • Leslie Vandivere
  • Libby Witt
  • Bill Witting

Interested in Serving on the ACLU of Virginia Board?

Would you like to be part of the dynamic group of people who govern the Virginia affiliate of the ACLU?  Members of the ACLU of Virginia Board of Directors serve three-year terms and are voted in by the membership.  If you'd like to be considered for nomination, you must be a member in good standing of the ACLU and submit a brief statement of interest. Send your information to the attention of Executive Director Claire Gastañaga by email ( or by mail to 701 E. Franklin St., Ste. 1412, Richmond, VA 23219.  Information must be received by November 15 for elections that take place the following spring.